Parent Reviews

Average Rating (234 reviews)


Filter reviews by rating

Create your own review

Submit your review
* Required Field

Great tutoring advice for our two sons!

April 26, 2017 by Patrick

Both our boys had SAT tutoring through Educational Connections. Our oldest son began tutoring in January 2014. Our son was a very good student and test taker, but we wanted private tutoring to get his SAT to the next level. His goal was to take the test once, which he did in June, and scored 2250. (When he considered trying to cram the final tutoring sessions together to take the test earlier, the tutor was able to convince him that there was no rush and he should wait for the June test. This was the perfect advice.) Our younger son started tutoring in late 2016. He wants to play soccer in college and at the schools he is interested in, he was told he needed between a 1350-1400. His goal was to take the test as many times as needed to get that score. Thinking he could short cut the system, after only a few tutoring sessions, he took the test in December and got a 1240 or 1250. He then really buckled down with his tutor and she did a great job motivating him, resulting in a 200 point improvement when he took the test in March. We were so thrilled that the same tutor was still with Educational Connections 3 years after first tutoring our older son. Our two boys had different goals and have different study styles, but their tutor was able to get the best from both of them. Thank you so much to her and to EC!

Fantastic for busy schedules

April 05, 2017 by Becca
Location: Alexandria 

The tutor has been able to explain physics to my daughter when her teacher has not. It is great that he comes to the home...that is fantastic for busy schedules!

Smart tutor match for test prep

March 20, 2017 by Lisa
Location: Arlington 

We highly recommend Educational Connections. My daughter received tutoring from mid/late September until she took the ACT in December. The staff of Educational Connections made a smart decision in pairing my daughter with her tutor. Her tutor is highly intelligent, organized, patient, warm, and kind. She knew exactly how to connect with my daughter and somehow made all of the sessions at our dining room table interesting. She proctored the practice tests my daughter took on 2 Saturday mornings and then went over the results at the weekly Sunday tutoring session at my house. She gave my daughter practical tips on how to manage her time when taking the ACT and deal with tricky ACT questions, among other bits of wisdom. My daughter looked up to her tutor who also practices law full time and has boundless amounts of energy. My daughter ended up raising her scores from a 24 on a practice ACT to a composite of 29 on the December ACT to a composite of 30 on the February ACT. Thanks to our tutor for all of her wise counsel!

Versatile tutoring--from dysgraphia tutoring to test prep

March 13, 2017 by Lizzy
Location: Vienna 

We have used EC tutoring services several times since our daughter was in the 5th grade (she is now a junior in high school). At the end of the 4th grade she was diagnosed with dysgraphia and we had tutors from EC tutoring work with her to catch up to her grade level academically and help her learn skills to mitigate the challenges of her dysgraphia. We are now using EC tutoring for college test prep. We really liked the opportunity to do mock testing to determine which test (ACT vs. SAT) would be most appropriate for our daughter. We have signed up for one of the college test prep tutoring packages and are very happy with her tutor for this.

Great at accommodating schedule and following up!

March 06, 2017 by Sam
Location: Fairfax 

We are impressed by how well our daughter's tutor knows the material and the standardized exam system. The tutor has a great working relationship with our daughter, and accommodates her demanding homework schedule.

We appreciate EC's follow up reports, summarizing the sessions. Very happy with EC's one on one, in home tutoring. You make the whole process so much easier and manageable.

Happy to have someone help him open up

December 29, 2016 by Kathryn
Location: Falls Church 

We have been very happy with the coach who is working with our son. She is able to get him to open up and works to talk him through the mountains of work he has in a way that he will not do with us.

So good, so far

December 15, 2016 by Elaine

Kristin works well with my son. I'm satisfied with what Kristin has done with him so far. There are still a lot of work to be done with Joseph on the quality of his work and be organized independently.

Helped with reducing stress!!

November 22, 2016 by Kathy
Location: Arlington 

Jon was amazing. He was patient, kind and knowledgeable. He helped reduce my daughters stress surrounding the test and gave her the confidence to succeed.

Great For Test Prep

November 16, 2016 by Tanja
Location: Arlington, VA 

Our tutor evaluated our daughter's strengths and weaknesses in her testing and spent time with her on the weaknesses including time management. Her ACT score rose 2 points.

I highly recommend EC tutoring

November 04, 2016 by Karen
Location: McLean 

The tutors recommended for our daughter are always so easy to work with and deliver strong results. We feel so fortunate to be able to work with EC and look forward to doing so again in the future! I would highly recommend EC to any parent wanting to provide additional support.

First Rate Tutors

November 04, 2016 by Jean
Location: Great Falls 

The tutors are first rate and worked well with my children.

Smooth and efficient process

November 04, 2016 by Jennifer
Location: Reston 

"Our tutor is excellent, she is very knowledgeable and the overall process with Educational Connections was very smooth and efficient." - Jennifer

Easy Sign Up and Right Match

October 17, 2016 by Gretchen

The process for signing up is easy and the staff moves quickly to find you a match. We have used two tutors from EC and they were perfect fits for my son and my daughter, who have very different learning styles.

Exceptional Tutors!

September 12, 2016 by Linda
Location: Arlington 

Our tutor is exceptional; professionalism and responsiveness of the ECI staff; communication and on-line payment systems.

Programs tailored to needs

August 19, 2016 by Kim
Location: McLean 

Great communication between tutor and parents. Program tailored to our child's needs not a cookie cutter solution. Program changes as child learns. We have a son with ADHD. He has great grades but struggles terribly at managing assignments (homework) and needed some math brush up. We started with Educational Connections 3 weeks before the end of the school year and continued into the summer. Our son's tutor, Joe, has been very flexible. He's accommodated our travel schedule and gives "assignments" to be completed during those times. He reviews the materials when we return and then proceeds forward with new objectives. After every session we have a recap and also receive a written follow up as soon as the next day. Based on our experience thus far, we've decided to continue when school starts this Fall. We're eager to see how the sessions will impact our son's performance as he enters 7th grade.

Outstanding Tutor for My Daughter

August 01, 2016 by Christine
Location: McLean 

I have nothing but the highest praise for Ms. Hirsch! She was an outstanding tutor – not only was she kind, patient and encouraging with my daughter, but she went out of her way to accommodate our schedule and meet with [my daughter] before her test dates. She would ask to see the calendar of homework and tests so that she could prepare ahead of time and be ready for any questions. Ms. Hirsch was on time, worked overtime, and generally put in an abundance of care and energy into her work with my daughter. As a result of her help, Abi went from a C average in the middle of 7th grade to a final grade of an A in math at the end of 8th grade! What an accomplishment!

Highly Qualified Tutors

July 18, 2016 by Beth
Location: Falls Church, VA 

Highly qualified tutors, great weekly feedback, multiple practice opportunities.

It was a perfect fit!

July 07, 2016 by L
Location: Alexandria, VA 

EC matched my son with a tutor who was a perfect fit for him. After tutoring, his score on the ACT rose 6 points.

Efficient!!

June 02, 2016 by Karina

They were extremely efficient in finding a tutor and the tutor they selected has been amazing! Structured, skilled, knowledgeable, super easy to schedule with. We really like her and how she is doing with our son.

High Quality Tutors with a Price to Match

May 13, 2016 by Monica

I like the quality of tutors and the fact that they are available to come to our house. It is very convenient and is one of the main reasons I use Educational Connections. That being said, it is a very expensive service and I feel compelled to warn friends about the price when recommending EC.

Educational Connections, Inc. (703) 934-8282 3923 University Drive Fairfax VA, 22030 USA 4.7 5.0 234 234 Both our boys had SAT tutoring through Educational Connections. Our oldest son began tutoring in January 2014. Our son was a very good student and test taker, but we wanted private
Page:
123»
TOP